

MINUTES

MEETING TITLE	CHAIR APPROVED Minutes of the 84th meeting of the Blue Plaques Panel	
DATE	8 June 2022 at I lam	
LOCATION	English Heritage Offices, 100 Wood Street, London EC2V 7AN	
MEMBERS	Professor Ronald Hutton (Chair) Mihir Bose Chania Fox Emily Gee	Alex Graham Andrew Graham-Dixon Professor Claire Harman Amy Lamé Susie Thornberry
ATTENDEES	Sir Tim Laurence – Board Chairman Anna Eavis – Curatorial Director & Panel Secretary Jeremy Ashbee – Head Historic Properties Curator Alex Carson – PR Manager Cathy Power – Blue Plaques Manager Rebecca Preston – Blue Plaques Historian Howard Spencer – Senior Historian, Blue Plaques Judeth Neville – Head of Governance (minutes)	
OBSERVERS	Liz Bromley – Trustee	Mark Stuart-Smith – Chief Financial Officer
APOLOGIES	Professor Richard Aldrich Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE	Dr Simon Chaplin

<u>Item I - Apologies, announcements and declarations of interest or any other business</u>

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed new members **Susie Thornberry** and **Chania Fox**.
- 1.2 **Amy Lamé** noted that she is employed at City Hall and that the papers note that the road on which the new City Hall is sited will be named Kamal Chunchie Way. The Chair confirmed that no conflict arose. There were no other declarations of interest.

Item 2 - Minutes of the meeting held on 9 February 2022

2.1 Approved as a fair and accurate record.

Item 3 - Matters arising

3.1 There were no matters arising.

<u>Item 4 – Secretary's report (oral)</u>

- 4.1 Anna Eavis noted that Chania Fox has joined the Panel for one year with the aim, subject to RAAC approval, of adopting a rolling process of further young members serving one year terms thereafter. Chania noted that as part of her remit on the Panel she would appreciate being able to chat with Panel members about their experience of the Panel and induction to it.
- 4.2 We have since the February meeting installed six plaques: Walter and Annie Maunder, Enid Marx, Oliver Heaviside, Sir Isaiah Berlin, John Connelly and Fanny Wilkinson, with a further eight to follow this season.

A further update from the Secretary is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

Item 5 - PR Update

5.1 The Panel noted the PR Update.

Item 6 - Blue Plaques Programme - Progress Report

- 6.1 **Cathy Power** confirmed that Panel members are welcome to attend the forthcoming launches and to suggest appropriate speakers and attendees.
- 6.2 The Panel noted the progress of the plaques programme.

<u>Item 7 - Criteria for the evaluation of Blue Plaque proposals</u>

7.1 Noted.

Item 8 - Preliminary considerations

8.1 Under its terms of reference, the Blue Plaques Panel advises English Heritage on the erection of Blue Plaques. The Panel considered 19 preliminary reports as follows:

David Lucas (1802-1881)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

William Webster (1819-1888)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Dusé Mohamed Ali (1866-1945)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Edward Blishen (1920-1996)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Elizabeth Montagu (1718-1800)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Angela Thirkell, née Mackail; other married name McInnes (1890-1961)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sir Wilson Jameson (1885-1962)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Sir James Paget (1814-1899)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Clara Macirone (1821-1914)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Elsy Borders, née Kreher (1905-1971)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Kamal Chunchie (1886-1953)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Gertrude Mary Tuckwell (1861-1951)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Leslie Goonewardene (1909-1983)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Mabel Tuke (1871-1962)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Benny Hill (1924-1992)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sir Derek Barton (1918-1998)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson (1921-1996)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ingrid Bergman (1915-1982)

The Panel's decision was to endorse Bergman's commemoration, and the suggested inscription.

Anton Walbrook (1896-1967)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

<u>Item 9 - Shortlist of recommendations awaiting final report</u>

9.1 Noted.

Item 10 - Final reports

10.1 This item is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

<u>Item II – Any other business</u>

11.1 The team will endeavour to provide future Panel papers 10 days in advance of each meeting.

- 11.2 Anna Eavis expressed thanks to Ronald Hutton on behalf of the Panel and staff team for his intelligent, sensitive, skilful and inclusive chairing of the Panel over 12 years. Tim Laurence updated the Panel on the progress of recruitment of a successor to Ronald as a trustee. He noted that the Board will await further progress before deciding who should act as permanent chair and that he has offered to act as interim chair for the October meeting if the new permanent chair has not been selected by then.
- 11.3 The next Panel meeting would be held on Wednesday 5 October (11:00 13:00).

Minutes: J Neville 8.6.22