Uley Long Barrow is a partially reconstructed Neolithic chambered mound. It is 37 metres long and overlooks the Severn Valley. It's known locally as Hetty Pegler's Tump, after Hester Pegler who owned the land in the 17th century.
The barrow as seen today is largely the result of the excavation and reconstruction undertaken by Dr John Thurnham in 1854 and subsequent repairs in 1871, 1891 and 1906.
Managed by Gloucestershire County Council.
Read more about the history of the barrow.
Before You Go
Parking: There is space for one or two cars in the layby diagonally opposite the signed footpath leading to the site. There is no charge. Take care crossing the road.
Facilties: Toilets, shops and food outlets can be found a short drive away in Stroud.
Other Information: Bring a torch to fully explore the depths of the barrow's interior. Please be aware that the entrance is very low although it is possible to stand once inside the barrow.
Dogs: Dogs on leads are welcome.
Please be aware: English Heritage does not permit drone flying from or over sites in our care, except by contractors or partners undertaking flights for a specific purpose, who satisfy stringent CAA criteria, have the correct insurances and permissions, and are operating under controlled conditions.
English Heritage cares for over 400 historic buildings, monuments and places - from world-famous prehistoric sites to grand medieval castles, from Roman forts on the edges of empire to a Cold War bunker. Through these, we bring the story of England to life for over 10 million people each year. The English Heritage Trust is a charity, no. 1140351, and a company, no. 0744722, registered in England.
- 66% Self-generated income
- 20% One off capital grant
- 14% Government funding