

MINUTES

MEETING TITLE	Minutes of the 80 th meeting of the Blue Plaques Panel
DATE	3 February 2021 at 11am
LOCATION	Held via Zoom
ATTENDEES	Professor Ronald Hutton – Chair Professor Richard Aldrich Sir Peter Bazalgette Mihir Bose Dr Simon Chaplin Professor Martin Daunton Emily Gee Alex Graham Andrew Graham-Dixon Professor Claire Harman Dr Rebekah Higgitt Dr Rosemary Hill Alan Hollinghurst Amy Lamé Anna Eavis – Curatorial Director and Panel Secretary Jeremy Ashbee – Head Historic Properties Curator Michael Murray-Fennell – Head of PR Cathy Power – Blue Plaques Manager Rebecca Preston – Blue Plaques Historian Howard Spencer – Senior Historian, Blue Plaques Sara Whines – PR Manager Kathryn Lanning – Governance Officer Eloise England – Governance Assistant (minutes)

Item I - Welcome and Announcements by the Chairman

1.1 The Chairman welcomed Panel members and staff, in particular Alex Graham and Professor Claire Harman who joined the Panel on I February 2021. He acknowledged the contribution David Olusoga had made to the Panel's work and expressed regret that the pressure of other commitments had made it necessary for him to stand down.

Item 2 - Apologies and Declarations of Interest

- 2.1 No apologies for absence were received.
- 2.2 It was noted that one of the preliminary reports related to a proposal by Martin Daunton and that he would leave the meeting for the discussion on that item.

<u>Item 3 – Minutes of the meeting held on 7 October 2020</u>

3.1 Agreed as a correct record.

Item 4 - Matters Arising

4.1 There were no matters arising.

Item 5 - Secretary's Report (oral)

- 5.1 Anna Eavis congratulated the team on the successful installation of four blue plaques since the last meeting, for Barbara Hepworth and John Skeaping, Cecil Beaton, Ottobah Cugoano and Abdus Salam, and the resulting press coverage. She also advised that the BAME working group had met and discussed the possibility of the Education department including blue plaques in their educational offering.
- 5.2 All BAME plaque holders now had a full profile on the EH website, and work continued to provide fuller profiles for plaque holders with contested or controversial histories.
- 5.3 The second edition of *The English Heritage Guide to London's Blue Plaques* had sold 1247 copies and would be marketed to the US in May 2021. New Panel members would be sent a copy.

ACTION: Howard Spencer

5.4 BBC Radio 5 Live had run a feature on the history of the blue plaques scheme which included an interview with Howard Spencer. Howard had also presented a seminar on 'Bloomsbury Blues', about plaques around the University of London.

Item 6 - PR Update

6.1 The Panel noted the PR Update.

<u>Item 7 - Blue Plaques Progress Report</u>

7.1 The Panel noted the progress report.

Item 8 - Plaques Approved

8.1 The Panel noted the list of plaques completed in 2020 and approved for 2021.

<u>Item 9 - Criteria for the evaluation of Blue Plaque proposals</u>

9.1 Included for information.

Item 10 - Preliminary reports

10.1 Under its terms of reference, the Blue Plaques Panel advises English Heritage on the erection of Blue Plaques. The Panel considered 28 preliminary nominations as follows:

Anthony Powell (1905-2000)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist but to allow the case to be reviewed in 5 years.

Bessie Parkes Belloc (1829-1925)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Michael Bentine (1922-1996)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Leigh Bowery (1961-1994)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Irene Barclay (1894-1989)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Dr George Price (1922-1975)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ewart Grogan (1874-1967)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Katharine Goodson (1872-1958) and Arthur Hinton (1869-1941)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ivy Davison (1892-1977)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sibyl Moholy-Nagy (1903-1971)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

May Herschel Clarke (1894-1955)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Fred Hammill (1856-1901)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Evelyn Dove (1902-1987)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Fanny Eaton (1835-1924)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Dame Veronica Wedgwood (1910-1997)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sir Hugh Casson (1910-1999)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Brigadier Dudley Clarke (1899-1974)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Captain Patrick Danny (1873-1928)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Diana Beck (1900-1956)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Elsa Lanchester (1902-1986)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Solomon Schonfeld (1912-1984)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Cecil Middleton (1886-1945)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Yvonne Cormeau (1909-1997)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist but to allow the case to be reviewed in 5 years.

Agnes Mary Clerke (1842-1907)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Anthony Burgess (1917-1993)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

W Arthur Lewis (1915-1991)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Moshe Feldenkrais (1904-1984)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Thomas Wallis (1872-1953)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist.

Item II - Shortlist of Panel Recommendations Awaiting Final Report

II.I The Panel noted the shortlist.

Item 12 - Final Reports

12.1 This item is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

Item 13 - Any Other Business

13.1 The Chairman recognised that this was the last meeting for Peter Bazalgette and Martin Daunton. He thanked them for their longstanding contribution and their dedication to the work of the Panel. Peter and Martin expressed their gratitude to the Chairman and other Panel members.