

MINUTES

MEETING TITLE	Minutes of the 79 th meeting of the Blue Plaques Panel
DATE	7 October 2020 at 1 I am
LOCATION	Held via Zoom
ATTENDEES	Professor Ronald Hutton — Chair Professor Richard Aldrich Sir Peter Bazalgette Mihir Bose Dr Simon Chaplin Professor Martin Daunton Emily Gee Andrew Graham-Dixon Dr Rebekah Higgitt (part) Dr Rosemary Hill Alan Hollinghurst Amy Lamé Anna Eavis — Curatorial Director and Panel Secretary (part) Jeremy Ashbee — Head Historic Properties Curator Cathy Power — Blue Plaques Manager Rebecca Preston — Blue Plaques Historian Howard Spencer — Senior Historian, Blue Plaques Alex Carson — PR Manager

Item I - Welcome and Announcements

1.1 The Chairman welcomed Panel members, in particular Professor Richard Aldrich, Mihir Bose, Dr Simon Chaplin, Emily Gee, Andrew Graham-Dixon and Amy Lamé who had all joined the Panel on I October 2020. He outlined the nature of the Panel's work, in particular the requirement that successful nominations needed to be 'over the bar' in the Panel's collective view and borderline cases would be rejected.

<u>Item 2 – Apologies and declarations of interest</u>

- 1.1 Apologies were noted from Professor David Olusoga.
- 1.2 There were no declarations of interest.

<u>Item 3 - Minutes of the meeting held on 12 February 2020</u>

3.1 Agreed as a correct record.

Item 4 - Matters arising

4.1 There were no matters arising.

<u>Item 5 – Secretary's report (oral)</u>

- 5.1 Anna Eavis was delighted that plaque installations had resumed following the programme's suspension during the recent period of lockdown and staff furlough. Press coverage for Noor Inayat Khan in August had been very good thanks to the PR team. Continued social distancing measures meant that it was impossible for people to gather in person for an installation event, so alternative ways of creating publicity and interest were being developed to help create a sense of occasion.
- 5.2 She also advised that the public debate triggered by the Black Lives Matter movement had highlighted the need for the blue plaques team to ensure that online profiles provide up to date interpretation and contextualisation for each blue plaque. This would be a key area of focus for the team and a major piece of work, as most of the 950+ plaques currently lacked profiles. However, it would not necessarily preclude exploring opportunities to provide temporary or permanent ways of contextualising plaques in situ.

<u>Item 6 – PR Update</u>

6.1 The Panel noted the PR Update.

Item 7 - Plaques Approved

- 7.1 The Panel noted the list of plaques approved for 2019, 2020 and 2021.
- 7.2 It was suggested that, as resources allow, English Heritage consider Enriching the List with images and links whenever a blue plaque is erected on a listed building.

<u>Item 8 - Criteria for the evaluation of Blue Plaque proposals</u>

8.1 Included for information.

Item 9 - Preliminary reports

9.1 Under its terms of reference, the Blue Plaques Panel advises English Heritage on the erection of Blue Plaques. The Panel considered 22 preliminary nominations as follows:

Christina Broom (1863-1939)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Joan Clarke (1917-1996)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Stella Gibbons (1902-1989)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Dr Annie McCall (1859-1949)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Olive Morris (1952-1979)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Anthony Powell (1905-2000)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

<u>Post-meeting note:</u> the Panel reviewed this nomination at its meeting on 3 February 2021, following the submission of further information by the applicant.

Elizabeth Scott (1898-1972)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Hannah Barlow (1851-1916)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Bevington & Sons

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Griffith Brewer (1867-1948)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Elizabeth Miriam Burgwin (1850-1940)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Marie-Louise Christophe (1778-1851)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Rhoda Garrett (1841-1882) and Agnes Garrett (1845-1935)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Adelaide Hall (1901-1993)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Audrey Hepburn (1929-1993)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Christopher Ironside (1913-1992)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Gertrude Lawrence (1898-1952)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Yehudi Menuhin (1916-1999)

The Panel's decision was to shortlist

Marlow Moss (1889-1958)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Jane Porter (1775-1850) and Anna Marie Porter (1778-1832)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Feliks Topolski (1907-1989)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Kingsley Wood (1881-1943)

The Panel's decision was not to shortlist

Item 10 - Shortlist of recommendations awaiting final report

10.1 Noted

Item II - Final reports

11.1 This item is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

Item 12 - Any other business

12.1 There was no other business.