

MINUTES

MEETING TITLE	PUBLIC Minutes of the 88th meeting of the Blue Plaques Panel	
DATE	21 November 2023 at 1pm	
LOCATION	English Heritage Offices, 100 Wood Street, London EC2V 7AN	
MEMBERS	Professor William Whyte (Chair) Sophie Anstee de Mas Mihir Bose Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE Emily Gee ¹	Alex Graham Andrew Graham-Dixon Professor Claire Harman* Amy Lamé Susie Thornberry
ATTENDEES	YolanDa Brown OBE DL - new Panel member from January 2024 Dr Shini Somara – new Panel member from January 2024 Anna Eavis – Curatorial Director Jeremy Ashbee – Head Historic Properties Curator* Aileen Brennan – Philanthropy Executive Alexandra Carson – PR Manager Kirsty McCarrison – Senior Youth Engagement Manager – item 7 only Cathy Power – Blue Plaques Manager Rebecca Preston – Blue Plaques Historian Susan Skedd – Blue Plaques Historian Howard Spencer – Senior Historian, Blue Plaques Matt Thompson – Head Collections Curator*	
APOLOGIES	Professor Richard Aldrich	Dr Simon Chaplin

^{*} by Teams

<u>Item I - Apologies, announcements and declarations of interest or any other business</u>

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed YolanDa Brown and Dr Shini Somara, two of four new Panel members, who are attending this meeting as observers prior to joining as members in January. He also welcomed part time Blue Plaques Historian Susan Skedd and Dr Matt Thompson, who will take over as Secretary to the Blue Plaques Panel from 25 November, along with Sophie Anstee de Mas to her first meeting as a Panel member.
- 1.2 The Chair noted that Professor Richard Aldrich and Dr Simon Chaplin had sent comments in advance on the papers, to which he drew the Panel's attention as the meeting progressed.
- 1.3 Susie Thornberry declared that she is now also a member of the panel for Historic England's national blue plaques scheme and offered to keep the Panel updated on progress. There were no other new declarations of interest.

Item 2 - Minutes of the meeting held on 7 June 2023 and any matters arising

2.1 The Minutes were approved as a fair and accurate record.

¹ By Teams from item 1 to mid-item 5

 $^{^{2}}$ For items 5 and 7

2.2 There were no matters arising.

Item 3 - Chair's report (oral)

3.1 The Chair noted the appointment of four new Panel members with effect from January 2024: Professor Tilly Blyth for science, YolanDa Brown OBE DL for music, Dr Shina Somara for engineering and Petroc Trelawny for music.

<u>Item 4 - Curatorial Director's report (oral)</u>

4.1 The Curatorial Director outlined recent blue plaque unveilings and other events and noted the proposed 2024 unveilings.

A further update from the Curatorial Director is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

<u>Item 5 - Preliminary considerations</u>

5.1 Under its terms of reference, the Blue Plaques Panel advises English Heritage on the erection of blue plaques. The Panel considered 26 preliminary reports as follows:

(Charles) Stanley Peach (1858-1934)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Gwen John (1876–1939)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ivan Meštrović (1883-1962)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Winifred Nicholson (1893–1981)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Sebastian Haffner (1907-1999)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

G. R. Sims (1847-1922)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Elizabeth Inchbald (1753-1821)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Hammond Innes (1913-1998)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Esther Kreitman (1891–1954)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Laurie Lee (1914-1997)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

James Jackson Brown (1882-1953)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

George Rice (1848-1935)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Alice Vickery (1844-1929)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sandy Denny (1947-1978)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Matt Monro (1930-1985)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Hilde Holger (1905-2001)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Edith Watson (1888–1966)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

William Hartnell (1908–1975)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Spike Milligan (1918–2002)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Margaret Torrie (1912–1999)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Lady Sara Louisa Blomfield (1859-1939)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Tara Browne (1944–1966)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ernest Smith (1908–2022)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Elen Elaine Austin (1895-1987)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Hannah Poland; married name Lemel (1873–1942)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Edith Comber (1908-1990)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

<u>Item 6 – Final reports</u>

This item is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

<u>Item 7 – Youth engagement</u>

7.1 Kirsty McCarrison gave a presentation outlining the importance of the blue plaques scheme as part of English Heritage's youth engagement work, focussing on the scheme's qualities of accessibility, research, creativity, representation and relevance. The diverse blue plaque-

- related projects which Kirsty highlighted included: the Mapping the Past project, youth-led and youth-created; the You Tube Plaque to the Future series; Plaque to Basics around submitting blue plaques nominations; and Reverberate projects with partners including Kids on the Green and the Satyam School of Dance and Music.
- 7.2 Kirsty noted the importance of the Panel having a young member, one part of a project to encourage wider youth voice in governance.

Item 8 - Any other business

8.1 The Chair noted that this is the last meeting for Anna Eavis, Panel Secretary and Curatorial Director and thanked Anna for the wisdom she has brought to Panel deliberations.

Information papers:

- Blue plaques selection criteria
- Public relations update
- Blue plaques programme: progress report (protected)
- Panel recommendations awaiting final report (protected)

Minutes: J Neville 21.11.23