The Commission at English Heritage

The Commission is the governing Board of English Heritage. Its remit is governed by the National Heritage Act 1983 and other relevant legislation. The role of the Commission is to establish the overall strategic direction of the organisation within the policy and resources framework agreed with Government and to ensure that English Heritage complies with any statutory or administrative requirements for the use of public funds. It is the only body in the governance structure which can make binding decisions.

The Commission comprises a maximum of 17 individuals, appointed by the Secretary of State for the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, for their skill or professional standing in one or more areas of expertise.



Sir Laurie Magnus


Ms Lynda Addison OBE 
Ms Sally Balcombe
Mr Alex Balfour
Ms Victoria Barnsley OBE
Professor Martin Daunton
Mr Peter Draper
Professor Michael Fulford CBE
Mrs Victoria Harley
Mr Martin Moore
Mr Graham Morrison
Mr Michael Morrison
Baroness Young of Hornsey OBE

Meeting Dates

2015: 24 and 25 February; 21 and 22 April; 17 June; 21 and 22 July; 7 and 8 October; 9 December


Vida Cody
Commission Secretariat Manager
National Advice & Information: Governance and Legal
t: 020 7973 3364