What are the English Heritage Angel Awards?

The annual English Heritage Angel Awards, founded by Andrew Lloyd Webber and supported by the Telegraph, celebrate the efforts of local people who have saved historic buildings and places.

Winners of 2014 English Heritage Angel Awards, with judges at the awards ceremony

Winners of 2014 English Heritage Angel Awards, with judges at the awards ceremony

Award Categories

There are four categories that you can enter in the 2015 English Heritage Angel Awards: 

  • The best rescue or repair of a historic place of worship
  • The best rescue of a historic industrial building or site
  • The best craftsmanship employed on a heritage rescue by an individual or group of trainees, apprentices, experienced craftspeople or a company
  • The best rescue of a listed building, scheduled monument, registered park, garden or battlefield, protected wreck site or conservation area
Oldland Windmill rigged with bunting

Oldland Windmill was restored by volunteers over 28 years, The volunteers won an Award in 2014, voted for by English Heritage supporters and Telegraph readers.

When Will You Announce the 2015 Winners?

Applications for the 2015 must be submitted by 26 April 2015. English Heritage, along with other a panel of experts from the heritage sector, will pick a shortlist of 16 entries. The shortlist will be announced in July when you will be able to choose your favourite. The shortlist that gets the most votes will win an award at the ceremony.

The judges, chaired by Andrew Lloyd Webber will choose the winners in the summer. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 7 September. The awards ceremony will be held at the Palace Theatre, London. 

If you have any questions about the awards, please contact us at: angels@english-heritage.org.uk.

You can see the terms and conditions for this year's English Heritage Angel Awards.

The English Heritage Angel Awards
'English Heritage Angel Awards coverage on the Telegraph


English Heritage Angel Awards