The striking and picturesque moated castle of Nunney was built in the 1370s by Sir John de la Mere, a local knight who was beginning to enjoy royal favour. Extensively modernised in the late 16th century, the castle was held for the King during the Civil War, but quickly fell to Parliamentarian cannon in 1645: not until Christmas Day 1910, however, did the gun-damaged portion of the wall finally collapse.
Prices and opening times
Church Street, Nunney, Frome,, Somerset, BA11 4LW
For just £39 a year, English Heritage members get free entry to our properties and exclusive discounts.