A picturesque moated medieval castle, Nunney Castle in Somerset dates from the 1370s. Its builder was Sir John de la Mare, a local knight who was beginning to enjoy royal favour. Much modernised in the late 16th century, the castle was besieged and damaged by the Parliamentarians in 1645, during the English Civil War.
Though ruined, Nunney's dramatic great tower is very well preserved. Its four round corner towers and connecting walls are tightly encircled by the castle moat.
Read more about Nunney Castle's history.
Before You Go
Access: Although the majority of the site is level, there are a small number of steps at the entry gate and on to the bridge over the moat.
Please be aware: The castle is surrounded by a deep moat with steep sides.
Do not climb on the walls.
English Heritage does not permit drone flying from or over sites in our care, except by contractors or partners undertaking flights for a specific purpose, who satisfy stringent CAA criteria, have the correct insurances and permissions, and are operating under controlled conditions.
Parking: There is a free car park, a short walk away, off Castle Hill. The walk to the castle involves a moderate hill down into the village.
Facilities: There are no public toilets in Nunney, but there is a pub and a shop.
Dogs: Dogs on leads are welcome.
English Heritage cares for over 400 historic buildings, monuments and places - from world-famous prehistoric sites to grand medieval castles, from Roman forts on the edges of empire to a Cold War bunker. Through these, we bring the story of England to life for over 10 million people each year. The English Heritage Trust is a charity, no. 1140351, and a company, no. 0744722, registered in England.
- 66% Self-generated income
- 20% One off capital grant
- 14% Government funding