Our Trustees

Our Trustees

The collective role of the trustees is to provide strategic direction and constructive challenge to ensure English Heritage delivers its goals and objectives and is managed effectively.

  • Sir Tim Laurence (KCVO, CB, ADC)

    Sir Tim Laurence is Chairman of the English Heritage Trust, having previously served for four years as a Commissioner of English Heritage prior to it becoming a charity. A career naval officer, his time in uniform ended after serving for three years as Chief Executive in charge of the Defence Estate, with responsibility for some 700 listed buildings, 1200 scheduled monuments and 170 SSSIs. Since then Tim has pursued his enthusiasm for regeneration, as Chairman of two regeneration companies; for major projects, as Chairman of the Major Projects Association; and for heritage through his involvement with English Heritage and the HMS Victory Preservation Company. He was previously Vice Chairman of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission and Deputy Chairman of RNLI. Tim is an ex officio member of English Heritage's Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Appointments Committee. He is also a Director of English Heritage Trading Ltd.  

  • Sarah Staniforth CBE

    Sarah Staniforth CBE, Deputy Chair of the English Heritage Trust, was previously the Museums and Collections Director at the National Trust and before that their Historic Properties Director and Head Conservator. She is a Trustee of the  Landmark Trust, a Trustee of the Science Museum Group, a Trustee of the Pilgrim Trust and President Emeritus of the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works. Sarah is also an observer on Historic England's Historic Estates Committee and a member of English Heritage's Audit and Risk Committee.

  • James Twining

    James Twining, Deputy Chair of the English Heritage Trust, is currently Chief Executive of the Kingsbridge Group, a private equity backed specialist insurance broker. Before that he was an Executive Director of Jardine Lloyd Thompson PLC, where he had responsibility for Strategy, Mergers and Acquisitions and Communications and Marketing. With a background in investment banking, James has also worked for McKinsey & Co and as the finance director of a private equity backed start-up. Prior to becoming a Trustee, James was Chairman of the English Heritage Foundation. He is also a member of the English Heritage Audit and Risk Committee.

  • Vicky Barnsley (Howard) OBE

    Victoria Barnsley (Howard) OBE is Executive Chairman of Castle Howard Estate Ltd. Previously she was CEO and Publisher of HarperCollins UK and International, a role she took up after News Corp acquired her independent publishing house, Fourth Estate, in 2000. She has held many high profile roles in the sector including President of the Publishers' Association, Chair of World Book Day and publishing representative on the Creative Industries Council. In addition to heritage and literature, Victoria has an extensive interest in the visual arts and is a former Trustee of Art UK, Tate and the National Gallery. She is also a member of the Remuneration and Appointments Committee and a Director of English Heritage Trading Ltd.

  • Charles Gurassa

    Charles Gurassa has 40 years' experience in the travel and tourism industry.   He is a former Chief Executive of Thomson Travel Group, Executive Chairman of TUI Northern Europe and Director of TUI AG, and prior to that a Senior Executive at Thomas Cook and British Airways.  He is also a former Deputy Chairman of the National Trust and former Chairman of Genesis Housing Association.  He is currently Chairman of Channel 4, Chairman of Oxfam GB, Chairman of Great Rail Journeys, and Chairman of the Migration Museum. Charles chairs English Heritage's Remuneration and Appointments Committee and is a Director of English Heritage Trading Limited.

  • Professor Ronald Hutton

    Professor Ronald Hutton is Professor of History at the University of Bristol. Prior to this he was a Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford, before serving as Lecturer and then Reader in History at Bristol University. He is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, the Society of Antiquaries, the Learned Society of Wales and the British Academy. Ronald is a former Commissioner of English Heritage prior to it becoming a charity and a former Chairman of the Designation Review and Remuneration Committees. Ronald chairs the English Heritage Blue Plaques Panel.

  • Sir Laurie Magnus

    Sir Laurie Magnus is Chairman of Historic England, the public body that champions and protects England's built historic environment. He was Deputy Chairman of the National Trust from 2005 to 2013. Laurie is a Senior Advisor at Evercore Partners, the investment banking group, and holds a number of listed company non-executive directorships within the finance sector. He has over 40 years' experience in the corporate finance advisory business, including in South East Asia. In the not-for-profit sector, Laurie is Chairman of Windsor Leadership and a Trustee of the Allchurches Trust. He is also a Director of English Heritage Trading Ltd.

  • Ian McCaig

    Ian McCaig is Chairman of Festicket Ltd, an innovative marketplace for music festival experiences; Board Member and Chair of the Operating Committee at M-Kopa Ltd, the largest provider of customer financing and off-grid solar services in Africa; Board Member and Chair of Audit & Risk at Seedrs Ltd, a leading equity-crowdfunding fintech business; Board Member of Wesleyan Assurance, which provides financial services to professional groups, and a Governor of The Leys and St Faith’s Schools Foundation.  Until the end of 2017, he was CEO of First Utility (the UK’s largest independent energy retailer) and was previously CEO of lastminute.com, Europe’s largest independent online travel agent.  Ian began his career in the IT industry before moving into telecommunications and spending six years at Nokia, working across Europe, the Middle East and Asia.  Ian chairs English Heritage’s Audit and Risk Committee.  

  • Kunle Olulode MBE

    Kunle Olulode MBE is the Director of Voice4Change, an umbrella Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) organisation representing over 400 BME charity community groups across England. He is also a curatorial, programme and audience development advisor to a wide range of cultural institutions including the British Library, the Victoria and Albert Museum, Wellcome Collection, Yorkshire Sculpture Park and the Catalan Institute in London. Possessing a keen interest in film, he has been part of the British Film Institute’s African Odyssey programming team for several years. He was previously UK Creative Director and producer with the Catlan live entertainment company Mas I Mas in Barcelona. With wide-ranging experience of policy development in the equalities and policy field, Kunle is a valued member of the Cabinet Office’s Windrush Working Group.

  • Sue Wilkinson

    Sue Wilkinson was an executive board director at the National Trust until the end of 2016 and the board lead on tourism.  During her time there she led on membership, fundraising, volunteering, marketing, visitor experience and customer service.  She oversaw the growth of membership to nearly 5 million members, ran a number of successful fundraising campaigns, delivered several £m IT projects and led a major brand review.

    Sue is currently a Commissioner of Historic England and deputy chair of the Churches Conservation Trust.  She is also a trustee of the Canal & River Trust, where she chairs the annual Living Waterways Awards, a board director of the Association of Leading Visitor Attractions (ALVA) and a trustee of the Medical Research Foundation.

    Until 2018 she was a trustee of the Old Royal Naval College, Greenwich and prior to this served on the Visit England Board and as a trustee of the Institute of Fundraising.

'step into englands story