The starkly impressive Brough Castle stands on a ridge commanding the strategic Stainmore Pass, on the site of a Roman fort.
Frequently the target of Scots raids, its towering keep dates from about 1200. More comfortable living quarters were later added by the Clifford family, only to be accidentally burnt following a 'great Christmas party' in 1521.
Like so many other castles in the region, Brough was restored in the 17th century by the Lady Anne Clifford, traces of whose additions can still be seen.
St Michael's Parish Church, in pretty Church Brough near the castle, displays an exhibition about the region.
Read more about the history of Brough Castle.
Before You Go
Opening Times: Open daily, 10am-5pm from April to September, 10am-4pm from October to March. Closed 24-26 December and 1 January.
Parking: There is limited space for parking near the castle in the village - please do not park at Brough Castle Farm. The entrance is via a kissing gate.
Please be aware: Farm livestock is likely to be present and the surfaces of the castle are uneven in places. In particular, please take care when crossing through the cobbles of the gatehouse.
Facilities: Brough Castle Ice Cream Parlour and Tearoom is immediately adjacent to the site, and has a small play area. It is not managed by English Heritage. Brougham Castle has toilet facilities and a shop selling gifts, hot and cold drinks and snacks.
Drone flying: English Heritage does not permit drone flying from or over sites in our care, except by contractors or partners undertaking flights for a specific purpose, who satisfy stringent CAA criteria, have the correct insurances and permissions, and are operating under controlled conditions. Please see our drone filming guidelines for more details, or email our Filming team.
Plan a Great Day Out
Several sites in the area are associated with the formidable Lady Anne Clifford, including the picturesque Brougham Castle, set on the banks of the River Eamont, and a half hour drive from Brough. Visitors can explore its passages and spiral staircase, and climb to the top of the keep. The castle has toilet facilities and a shop selling gifts, hot and cold drinks and snacks.
The distinctive Countess Pillar is a short walk from Brougham. It was erected by Lady Anne to mark her final parting from her mother.