The banks and ditches of a series of late Iron Age defences protecting the western side of Camulodunum – pre-Roman Colchester. There are also many pre-Roman graves hereabouts, including Lexden Tumulus, allegedly the burial place of the British chieftain Cunobelinus.
Read more about the history of the defences.
Managed by Colchester Borough Council - visit their museum website for more ideas on exploring Colchester's fascinating history.
Before You Go
How to Find Them: Although part of the same defensive system of earthworks, Bluebottle Grove and Lexden Earthworks are accessed separately.
Lexden Earthworks are alongside Straight Road, near its junction with Garden Drive.
To visit Bluebottle Grove from Lexden Earthworks, head south along Straight Road and turn left into Heath Road, left into Church Lane, right into Beech Hill and follow the signs to the site to the junction with Parson's Hill and Prettygate Road. Park and follow the footpath signs to walk about 300 metres to the north end of the site.
It is possible to drive slightly closer to Bluebottle Grove by driving into Magazine Farm Way from Prettygate Road and using a small path through from the northeast corner of Magazine Farm Way to walk about 120 metres to the north end of the site.
Parking: No parking on site but on-street parking available near both sites.
Facilities: There are no facilities at either site but both are 2 miles from Colchester town centre.
Dogs: Dogs on leads are welcome.
Plan a Great Day Out
Or head towards the coast and visit Landguard Fort, a 45-minute drive from Colchester. This impressive safe haven defended the approach to Harwich Harbour, and was the site of the last opposed seaward invasion of England by the Dutch in 1667.