Near the village of West Tanfield in North Yorkshire is this fine 15th-century gatehouse, three storeys high and with a beautiful oriel window. It belonged to a now-vanished manor house beside the river Ure. The monuments of the manor’s Marmion family owners grace the adjacent church.
Read more about the history of Marmion Tower.
Before You Go
Opening Times: Open daily, 10am-6pm from April to September, 10am-5pm during October, and 10am-4pm November to March.
Parking: Parking is available at the village hall in West Tanfield. Please put 50p in the honesty box.
How to Find it: From the village hall, cross the road and head to the church - Marmion Tower is next door.
Facilties: There are no public toilets in West Tanfield. Two pubs, the Bull Inn and Bruce Arms, both serve food, and there is a small shop and post office in the village.
Dogs: Dogs on leads are welcome.
Plan a Great Day Out
JMW Turner sketched Marmion Tower as part of his 1816 tour of Yorkshire. The artist also captured other sites in the area, including Rievaulx Abbey, Whitby Abbey, Richmond Castle and Scarborough Castle. Why not follow in Turner's footsteps? Both Richmond and Rievaulx are around 40 minutes away from the tower.
A little closer to Marmion is Middleham Castle, just 20 minutes away. Explore the extensive ruins that were once home to Richard III, and enjoy a picnic in the grounds.